History

A history almost a thousand years old…

Bogard’s story begins in 1274…

Mentioned in a charter of 1274, Bogard (or Bogar) takes its name from “bogue” (chestnut) and “ardere” (to burn). Bogard is a juveignerie of the barony of Yffiniac, i.e. a fief created for a cadet whose descendants bear the name.

The Bogard family produced officers, lawyers and ecclesiastics. Jean de Bogar was one of 60 Bretons who paid tribute to Louis XI. The last, Jean, was senechal of Moncontour. His grandfather built the south pavilion in the early 16th century. He bequeathed his estate to his niece, wife of Mathurin Le Metayer, Seigneur de La Rivière (from whom General La Fayette’s mother descended as a collateral branch).

Anne Le Metayer married Henri de Le Noüe, grand-nephew of the famous “La Noüe – Bras de Fer”, also known as the Bayard Huguenot, companion-in-arms of Henri IV, who died in a battle between Protestants and Catholics at Moncontour in 1591.

The Château built in the 18th century…

A couple both traditional and modern, Guillaume-François de La Noue, Councillor at the Parliament of Brittany and Master Freemason, and Félicité Meslé de Grandclos, daughter of a wealthy Saint-Malo shipowner, sealed the union of nobility and financial fortune.

Guillaume-François de La Noüe was a page to Louis XV at Versailles, then a Cavalry Officer, Lieutenant of the Marshals of France and Knight of the Holy Sepulchre. In 1776, he married Felicité Meslé de Grandclos. Together, they imagined and built the Château de Bogard as you see it today. To achieve this, they modified the structure of the old manor house (witnessed by the 16th-century tower) and destroyed its buttresses. They then went on to build the present château, inspired by the philosophical ideas of the Age of Enlightenment and Freemasonry.

The site you are visiting has not been modified since.

Evidences of Freemasonry in the 18th century…

Guillaume-François de La Noüe was a Master Freemason. We presume that his wife was as well, at least in her mindset, since lodges were originally male, for approving and financing such a family project ! The entire architecture of Château de Bogard and the surrounding gardens are organized and built according to masonic symbolism. Numerous interior features also reveal this belonging.

Masonic symbolism thus permeates the premises, invisibly to the uninitiated but discreetly obvious to the initiated.

A forgotten story rediscovered by chance in the 20th century…

The Château de Bogard was always inherited from generation to generation within the Bogard family and its successive alliances. In 1960, for the first time in its history, the château was sold as a working farm and bought by the Capelle family.

The De La Noüe couple, who designed and commissioned the château as it stands today, and the hidden meaning of the site’s architecture were lost to history. It was by chance that the Capelle family discovered archives hidden in the attic of the château, revealing a story that had been forgotten for almost 200 years…

Since then, the Capelle family has worked to make this story known, and to restore the Château de Bogard to the splendor it enjoyed in the 18th century.

The Capelle family will receive an honorary diploma and the IESA (Institut des Etudes Supérieures des Arts) prize for their work in restoring this historic heritage. Mr. Baudoin Capelle, current co-owner of Château de Bogard, was awarded of the Arts and Letters Order (Ordre des Arts et des Lettres). He was also elected VMF Regional Delegate for Brittany. Mr. Harald Capelle, also co-owner of the château and a tireless contributor to its restoration, is a member of the Rotary Club of Saint-Brieuc.

Château de Bogard is a member of the following associations: Historic Rersidences Demeure Historique (DH), Old French HousesVieilles Maisons Françaises (VMF), Association of Parks and Gardens of BrittanyAssociation des Parcs et Jardins de Bretagne (APJB). The property is also part of the Circuit des demeures de parlementaires bretons de l’Ancien Régime.

Contact us to visit the site and learn more about its history…

Historique

Une histoire presque millénaire…

L’histoire de Bogard commence en 1274…

Mentionné par une charte de 1274, Bogard (ou Bogar) tire son nom de “bogue” (châtaignier) et “ardere” (brûler). Bogard est une juveignerie de la baronnie d’Yffiniac, c’est-à-dire un fief créé pour un cadet dont la descendance porte le nom.

La famille de Bogard donna des officiers, hommes de loi et ecclesiastiques. Jean de Bogar fut un des 60 bretons qui rendirent hommage à Louis XI. Le dernier, Jean, fut senechal de Moncontour. Son grand-père construisit le pavillon Sud, au début du 16-ème siècle. Il légua son domaine à sa nièce, épouse de Mathurin Le Metayer, Seigneur de La Rivière (dont descendra d’une branche collatérale la mère du Général La Fayette).

Anne Le Metayer épousa Henri de Le Noüe, petit neveu du fameux “La Noüe – Bras de Fer ” dit le Bayard Huguenot, compagnon d’armes de Henri IV, mort à la suite d’un combat qui opposait protestants et catholiques à Moncontour en 1591.

Le Château construit au 18ème siècle…

Couple à la fois traditionnel et moderne, Guillaume-François de La Noue, Conseiller au Parlement de Bretagne, Maître Franc-Maçon, et Félicité Meslé de Grandclos, fille d’un riche armateur de Saint-Malo, scellent l’union de la noblesse et de la fortune financière.

Guillaume-François de La Noüe fut page de Louis XV à Versailles, puis Officier de Cavalerie, Lieutenant des Maréchaux de France et Chevalier du Saint Sépulcre. Il épouse en 1776 Felicité Meslé de Grandclos. Ensemble, ils imaginent et construisent le château de Bogard tel que vous le voyez aujourd’hui. Pour cela, ils modifient la structure de l’ancien manoir (dont la tour 16ème reste le témoin) et détruisent ses contreforts. Ils édifient ensuite l’actuel château en s’inspirant des idées du Siècle des Lumières et de la Franc-Maçonnerie.

Le site que vous visitez n’a pas été modifié depuis…

Témoignages de la Franc-Maçonnerie au 18ème siècle…

Guillaume-François de La Noüe était Maître franc-maçon. On suppose que sa femme l’était également, tout au moins en esprit car les loges étaient au départ masculines, pour avoir accepté de financer un tel projet de vie ! Car toute l’architecture du château de Bogard et les jardins alentours sont organisés et construits selon la symbolique maçonnique. De nombreux éléments intérieurs révèlent également cette appartenance.

La symbolique maçonnique imprègne ainsi les lieux de façon invisible pour les profanes mais discrètement évidente pour les initiés…

Une histoire oubliée redécouverte par hasard au 20ème siècle…

Bogard fut transmis par héritage de génération en génération au sein de la famille de Bogard et de ses alliances successives. Le château fut vendu pour la première fois de son histoire en 1960 en ferme d’exploitation et acheté par la famille Capelle.

Le couple La Noüe, concepteur et commanditaire du château actuel, ainsi que le sens caché de l’architecture des lieux s’étaient alors perdus dans les oubliettes de l’histoire. C’est par hasard que la famille Capelle découvre des archives dissimulées dans le grenier, qui lui révèlent cette histoire bretonne oubliée pendant presque 200 ans…

La famille Capelle a depuis oeuvré pour que cette histoire soit connue et pour que le château de Bogard puisse reprendre la splendeur qu’il avait au 18ème siècle.

Pour ce travail de restauration du patrimoine historique, la famille Capelle recevra un diplôme d’honneur et le prix IESA (Institut des Etudes Supérieures des Arts). Monsieur Baudoin Capelle, actuel co-propriétaire du château de Bogard, fut décoré de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres. Il est de plus élu Délégué Régional de l’association VMF pour la Bretagne. Monsieur Harald Capelle, également co-propriétaire du château et acteur infatigable de cette réhabilitation, est membre du Rotary Club de Saint-Brieuc.

Le château de Bogard est membre des associations suivantes : Demeure Historique (DH)Vieilles Maisons Françaises (VMF), Association des Parcs et Jardins de Bretagne (APJB). La propriété fait également partie du Circuit des demeures de parlementaires bretons de l’Ancien Régime.

     

Prenez contact pour visiter le site et en apprendre davantage sur son histoire…